Looking for info on CEMI Concept II

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Redge

Mar 6, 2006
This is my first year burning wood, I installed a vermont castings intrepid stove and it's working great, but I am still a rookie. A friend of mine recently bought a house that has a fireplace insert that looks to me like a stove insert. It's got a label on it that says CEMI and another that says concept II, that's all he knows about it and there was no info left with it. I was over there today and he is burning it like a regular fireplace with a grate and the doors open. I told him that he should probably burn it like I burn my stove but I wasn't sure. I surfed the net to try getting info on CEMI, but all I found was that they are out of business. So i'm looking for someone who knows anything about this insert or where I can find some literature on it. Also, the doors don't have glass like mine, they have what seems like plastic and it's not it good shape and needs replaced with glass maybe?

I have a CEMI as does my parents. They are really nice stoves, however I don't know of a direct connect kit so you have to clean your chimney every year or more. They put out a *LOT* of heat, are well built, and look nice as well. So I'd say they are worth it. Depending on your fire proficiency you could put a second fan in the fan box to boost airflow but then you should run your fires hot.