1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Looking to Buy a new Saw. Recomendations?

Post in 'The Gear' started by HOTBOX, Mar 22, 2014.

1. HOTBOX

HOTBOX New Member

Loc:
    Jamestown, NY
    Hi,
    Im new to heating with wood. (just installed a wood furnace a month ago). Im going to start cutting my wood pile for next winter+ and i want to buy a new chainsaw. I now have my dads older Sthil 026 with 16 inch bar. It runs ok but has alot of years on it. I'm Thinking another sthil or Husqurvarna. Probably will be cutting up to ten cord a year with it using my old one as back up. Any thoughts from all of you with some good experience? Size? Bar Length? make?

Thanx alot. Figured id ask the guys who have been there done that.

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. Clyde S. Dale

Clyde S. Dale Feeling the Heat

Loc:
    SE PA
  3. WiscWoody

WiscWoody Minister of Fire

Loc:
    NW Wisconsin where us fools live
  4. Fifelaker

Fifelaker Feeling the Heat

Loc:
    NW Mi
    Since you have half of the ultimate firewood saw plan with a MS260 50cc. I would look at a 70cc either Stihl or Husqvarna.
  5. HOTBOX

HOTBOX New Member

Loc:
    Jamestown, NY
    I will have to check out how big and heavy the larger saws are. Love that 026 for being light and maneuverable. Really I just want nothing bigger than being able to buck up 24" max hardwood
  6. isipwater

isipwater Feeling the Heat

Loc:
    South Shore, MA
    Good luck in your search as I am in the same position. I have been considering

New vs Used
    Amount of power
    bar size
    Brand
    Warranty
    Ability to have saw serviced by dealer
    Pro vs Ranch

So many options out there.