Looking to Buy a new Saw. Recomendations?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

HOTBOX

Mar 16, 2014
Jamestown, NY
Hi,
Im new to heating with wood. (just installed a wood furnace a month ago). Im going to start cutting my wood pile for next winter+ and i want to buy a new chainsaw. I now have my dads older Sthil 026 with 16 inch bar. It runs ok but has alot of years on it. I'm Thinking another sthil or Husqurvarna. Probably will be cutting up to ten cord a year with it using my old one as back up. Any thoughts from all of you with some good experience? Size? Bar Length? make?

Thanx alot. Figured id ask the guys who have been there done that.

Since you have half of the ultimate firewood saw plan with a MS260 50cc. I would look at a 70cc either Stihl or Husqvarna.

I will have to check out how big and heavy the larger saws are. Love that 026 for being light and maneuverable. Really I just want nothing bigger than being able to buck up 24" max hardwood

Good luck in your search as I am in the same position. I have been considering

New vs Used
Amount of power
bar size
Brand
Warranty
Ability to have saw serviced by dealer
Pro vs Ranch

So many options out there.

I am trying to keep a long term perspective, that is, getting a saw that will still be performing well in 10 -15 years and be powerful yet light enough so that logs get bucked quickly without straining my back too much.

Good luck.

I would look at a 70cc either Stihl or Husqvarna.
+1 to that. If you want a newer saw and the 026 is working fine, I would get a big enough saw that you feel it is worth the upgrade.