Lopi Endeavor review

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Pagey

Minister of Fire
Nov 2, 2008
Middle TN
I wanted to post a little review of our Lopi Endeavor, as I know someone will find this useful in the future. I'll describe the stove, our setup, and the pros/cons below. Most of you will be more than familiar with the descriptions, but I wanted to write it from the standpoint of someone new who is searching and feeling a bit overwhelmed. We have used the Endeavor for one heating season. Though I grew up with wood heat all my life (I'm 32 now), this is my first year of using it in my own home.

Environment/Home
We purchased our Lopi Endeavor in November of 2008 for approximately $2,000. We live on the Cumberland Plateau in Middle Tennessee. Our winters are relatively mild, but we do dip into the teens and lower, occasionally, and when you're in those ranges, a heat pump really struggles (and really costs). We live in a 2 story house that is about 8 years old. I would describe our windows and insulation and moderate/adequate. The house is not nearly as tight as it could be, but it's not some 1800's farm house, either. ;-) We're heating around 1,800 sq. ft., 1,000 downstairs and 800 upstairs.

Chimney system