1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Lopi Freedom Operating Tempertures.

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Freakingstang, Dec 30, 2012.

  1. Freakingstang

    Freakingstang Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Loc:
    Berlin Center, Ohio
    being new to an insert that I am getting ready to install, i too am curious as to where to put a magnetic thermometer... there isn't access to the pipe as it is insulated and not out in the open like a stand alone stove....

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    Operating temps for inserts vary depending upon the model. There are other Lopi Freedom owners here, so someone will chime in.
  3. Augie

    Augie Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Loc:
    North Of Canada
    Stove top as far back as it can go but not touching the mantle trim plate os where the thermo goes
  4. jatoxico

    jatoxico Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,541
    Loc:
    Long Island NY
    Yup flat on the top as near to the flue as possible is how mine is. In my insert I need a flash light to read it but give the most accurate reading. Got a IR thermo too. The rule is thermo or not, no glowing.
  5. lopiliberty

    lopiliberty Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    805
    Loc:
    Mineral County, WV
    Are you going with the flush mount install or letting is stick out a little? Put the thermometer as close to the bypass rod as possible so the air coming out of the two vents on each side will not affect the temperature reading as much. I would say operating temps for the freedom should be between 500 and 750 depending on fan speed and wood load. With a full load in my liberty and no fan running it will top out at 750 of just slightly above for an hour or so and slowly start coming down and settling between 600 and 700
  6. Freakingstang

    Freakingstang Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Loc:
    Berlin Center, Ohio
    mine will not sit flush, it will sit out some, and i might even have it sitting out 10-12" instead of the normal 7". My fireplace is very shallow. Im not new to stoves, but new to this whole insert idea, researched everything until i was blue in the face. this was the last question I really had about the whole deal. Thanks guys.
  7. Shawn

    Shawn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    On my Freedom Bay I put the thermometer to the right of the bypass rod - flat on top.

    Shawn
  8. Woody Stover

    Woody Stover Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,416
    Loc:
    Southern IN
    Yeah, I used that to find the hottest spot on the front face of the Buck 91, then stuck the magnetic thermo there.
  9. Freakingstang

    Freakingstang Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Loc:
    Berlin Center, Ohio
    what kind of normal operating temps do you see? in understand the bay is the same insert with a bigger box?
  10. webby3650

    webby3650 Master of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,192
    Loc:
    southern Indiana
    On my Freedom, i put the thermometer near the middle, but I can't get it very far back because of the flush kit. I normally see temps around 600, it spikes as much as 800. These temps won't hurt it, but you shouldn't let it stay that hot for too long. You will see the secondary air tubes glow once you back the primary air off, this is normal. You just don't want anything else to be glowing.

    If you bring it out on the hearth more than normal, how will you put the panels on it? Will you have enough hearth?
    Make sure that your flue outlet on the stove doesn't end up under the lintel if you pull it out. Thats one of the reasons for the flush kit, to move it away from the lintel, bringing it forward might not be possible.
  11. DKranger22

    DKranger22 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Per the freedom manual, 800 degrees and above is considered to be an over fire, thus voiding the warranty.

    Here is the excerpt from the manual, page 14:

    Over-firing may lead to damage of plated surfaces. If you are uncertain of over-firing conditions, we suggest placing a stove thermometer (e.g. Rutland® Model 710) directly over the door on the stove top - temperatures exceeding 800° are generally considered over-firing and will void the warranty.
  12. NextEndeavor

    NextEndeavor Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Loc:
    Southern Iowa
    Here are some pictures of where I put the stovetop thermometer. I included an IR photo from over a year ago so it does not correlate with the temp reading pictures of today. The IR shot just lets you see the hottest spot. My thermometer is actually within 20 degrees of the IR.

    DSC04535er.jpg DSC06750er.jpg DSC06752er.jpg Top gauge, indicating 610.jpg

    Attached Files:

  13. Shawn

    Shawn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    My normal operating temperature is about 500-650. I've been as high as 700-750 but only temporarily and if I have lots of small splits or leave the air open too long. I'm not sure that the box is any bigger on the Bay model - just the design of the front of the insert.

    Shawn
  14. Freakingstang

    Freakingstang Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Loc:
    Berlin Center, Ohio
    That is awesome, I like that ALOT!
    thanks for the pics, mine will hopefully get slid in tomorrow or sunday!
  15. Freakingstang

    Freakingstang Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Loc:
    Berlin Center, Ohio

    Two screws hold the surrounds on.. just a matter of moving them. Or if I like the look without the surrounds i won't even install them. I have a 3' hearth so that isn't an issue. what is the lintel? i have the offset adapter to either move the stove out 3" or back 3" like with a flush kit. Where my fireplace is located in the corner of the room at the east end of the house, I would prefer to have it out as much as possible for better and have taken measurements 10 times now and have plenty of clearance.
  16. webby3650

    webby3650 Master of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,192
    Loc:
    southern Indiana
    A flush kit is a set of extension pieces that attach to the outer shell of the unit, it moves the unit back into the fireplace. That adapter usually isn't needed, but instead an elbow is needed to get the right angle.
    The panels mount to the outer shell of the unit, using 4 pre punched holes and It rests on the top of the convection deck. I guess it could be monkied on there some how, but it won't look right. If you have plenty of clearance and don't care about the panels, why not go with a free-standing stove? It would deliver the most heat to the room.
  17. Freakingstang

    Freakingstang Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Loc:
    Berlin Center, Ohio
    Because I don't have the money being a new homeowner to do what i want to do, so I'm doing what I can so I don't have to spend so much on $3.88 a gallon heating oil. I bought my insert based on my dimensions, the size firebox and a few other factors. i've done my homework. i'm not going to just nixxed the idea because someone thinks I'm monkeying it. drilling four holes for the surround moving it back isn't monkeying it.
  18. luv2byte

    luv2byte Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    77
    Loc:
    Southwest Washington state
    We have the thermostat on top, center of our insert. Our insert stickes out about 4" from the fireplace. We run it in a range of 400-600f, we have ran it as hot at 750f but aim to not be higher than 650.
  19. webby3650

    webby3650 Master of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,192
    Loc:
    southern Indiana
    It kinda is. That's fine, but why not just install it as it's designed? It'll throw plenty of heat like it is. I promise.

Share This Page