Lopi Stoves Cat/noncat

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wizarma

Dec 3, 2008
Nebraska
I am new to the wood burning business. The house I moved into though was set-up for a wood burning stove(firerock and chimney) and I have cut firewood off the property for years(mainly to sell to freinds). I am going to look at a Lopi stove(unknown model) that is for sale. How do I tell if it is a catalytic converter model or not? I have heard the cat models are expensive to maintain and would prefer to stay away from them.

Thanks

We have a Woodstock Keystone stove cat. IMO they are not costly at all, compared to the amount of chimney cleaning non-cats might require. You do have to reg. clean the combuster, but these things burn so much cleaner. A cat stove would normally have a lower box area extending from the upper part of the stove into the firebox. Look for a mesh screen type area. Cats kind of take up room in the area you load wood, (most models). Life can be good with either kind of stove as long it is not a old model, which tends not to be clean burning as they are in the past 5 yrs or so.

I may be wrong, but I don't think Lopi makes CAT type stoves.

Second that. I'm pretty sure there aren't any Lopi cats. Look for tubes with holes in them across the inside top. I like my Lopi quite abit.

How old is the stove? All the Lopis I've seen have a nameplate with the model.
And I also don't recall any cats on their stoves.