lopi wood/COAL insert?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

milquetoast

Dec 7, 2006
i'll preface this by noting that i am a total newbie and would appreiciate any advice or chastsement i can get ;)
well i was checking out ebay today for woodstove inserts and lo and behold i see a lopi insert that the seller states is wood/coal burning. i cant find any such creature on the lopi website though it looks a great deal like the "answer" model. so what do the fireplace gurus think, is this an older model no longer on the website, or does the ebay seller not know what he is talking about? we are needing to put a woodstove insert into out 1921 masonry pneumonia hole---oh, i mean fireplace. im thinking great price and nice stove, any reservations that should be popping in my head and haven't due to total lack of experience? regardless of this particular seller, am i headed in the right direction re: brand and style? any one have ebay woodstove experiences they would like to share?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200055595764&fromMakeTrack=true

sincerely,
'toast

In the late 70 and early 80 many manufactures made combo stoves that could burn wood and coal for the most part these stoves never really suceeded is burning either fuel effeciently
Parts support for most manufactures is 5 to 7 years after production run So I doubt there are any. Being a newbie this is not a stove you should be targeting