M55 Burn Pot Enhancements

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JHASS

Dec 29, 2008
Jersey Pines
Started off last year burning corn, had a problem with it bouncing out of the burn pot to the extent that when
doing the weekly cleaning and emptying the ash pan there was probably 2 pounds of clean unburnt corn in it.
Then I read J-Takeman post on the mods he made to his Omega burn pot so I decided to try and enhance mine
with out welding it (yes I can weld do it for a living ) just wanted to do something that could be removed in case of
any warranty work that might need to be done. After 4 iterations this is what I think works the best. It is perforated
stainless steel and seems to not interfere with the air flow, lets the ash be blown out and leaves the pellets where they
burn best in the burn pot not the ash pan.
Thank You J-Takeman for the idea and all the other info you so graciously add to this site. :)

Attachments

• numder 1.jpg
    numder 1.jpg
    54.2 KB · Views: 684
  • number 2.jpg
    number 2.jpg
    76.1 KB · Views: 699
  • number 4.jpg
    number 4.jpg
    62.9 KB · Views: 689
Reactions: DevinM88
Cool,

How did you attach it? I don't see any screws.

I'll have to take another picture of mine, Because the tabs I welded on the bottom to straddle the agitator rod are starting to rust away. So this could be a better fix for the bottom fall out! There almost gone now and I am starting to loose some fuel again. Not to bad yet. But might ask you for a template of sorts so I can "copy" your design.