1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

M55 turbo convection blower is in!

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by flynfrfun, Sep 9, 2011.

  1. stovelark

    stovelark Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    597
    Loc:
    SE CT
    Hi folks Definitely the new blower is noisier with more air flow noise- seen a couple that had 60 hz hum (like a resonance) that is annoying. I'm a fan of the old blower as well. Funny too, there is lots of stoves with old blowers out there working just fine. I think that if you need to run your stove on 3-5, to get adequate heat, then the new blower is best for you because of the additional airflow and heat stripping. If you can use it on 1 or 2 most of the time, the old blower will probably work just fine unless you have some exceptionally hot pellets. Its all still a work in progress. The inserts seem to have more issues but not really, its just we sell more inserts..... anyway, good luck to all.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. whlago

    whlago Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    294
    Loc:
    NW Connecticut
    Bingo! You hit the nail on the head Stovelark. This has been my issue exactly with my freestanding unit. It just seems to be more trouble because I have to be conscious of not letting the hopper get too empty as it seems the more pellets inside the hopper the more buffer to the high limit sensor (maybe I'm wrong)

    Recently the limit switch tripped running on heat level 3 with Maine Wood Pellets! That was a first as previously it would only do it with Hamers. If I was running the stove at high/lo with a thermostat it would be tripping all the time I imagine. At least I've been able to control it some on manual but it's been kind of a pain in the neck.

    I've been speaking with my dealer about this on and off since last Christmas and finally a couple weeks ago he calls me out of the blue and tells me he found my new blower in the Warehouse! So I guess eventually he'll call me out of the blue again to tell me he's going to install it....we'll see. I realize that Enviro is sticking with the adjustable auger plate as the solution to this problem but I can't get my arms around that as a true fix to the problem. Anyway, I look forward to throwing more heat and not worrying about tripping the high temp hopper switch by next season, even if I know I'm going to have to put up with more blower noise.
  3. stovelark

    stovelark Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    597
    Loc:
    SE CT
    Hi wh I agree with you in regards to the adjustable plate, we put that on one of our customer's insert who was running Hamer's- It didn't help the problem, he was consistently running on 3 and 4, he had a big house and he needed the heat. The improved blower fixed his tripping the hi limit, but he did get some 60 hz "resonance" with it, and it was noted a full hopper did seem to help. We also loosened the side bolts where the blower mounted, tried to get any stress off the blower housing and re-tightened. I'd like to think that helped, but not sure. We changed it out again and the next blower was better, that was 2 seasons ago. It just seems on some stoves 3 and above the new blowers make an irritating amount of noise espec the inserts. If the original blowers had not been so quiet, we wouldn't have noticed it as much. But the quietness was the main feature of that stove..... the battle continues.
  4. flynfrfun

    flynfrfun Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Loc:
    Bonney Lake, WA
    If it is proven that it is in fact motor noise and not blower noise, a change to the control panel's speed control would probably fix it. I fly electric RC planes and some speed controls cause the motors to make noise while others don't. Somebody on this forum said Enviro gave them a different capacitor to try. He though it helped the noise. I checked with Enviro and they said they did experiment with different capacitors but ultimately it was not proven to make any difference.
  5. TJC

    TJC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Loc:
    Lancaster, NH
    I just bought my M55 Insert in Jan so I assume that I have the new blower in mine. ????

    I have had no problems so far, runs on Auto, 24/7. By runs I mean it is on and ready to deliver heat.
    I seem to get quite a bit of air out of mine. In fact it blows the plants around that are on the other side of the room, about 15' away. LOL
    Have had no cut outs of the switch on high setting which I do run from time to time on Man. I've been running the pellets that came with the stove which are not hot by any standards but did run some Barefoots I received from the dealer to try. No probs there either.

    So I guess I'm OK with what I have. ?????
    Anything else I should check for?

    Can you tell I'm a newbie at all this.

    PS: My Enviro Empress is cooking away without issues since the 1st week of Feb down in the Man Cave. Love that little stove.
  6. bostonfan49

    bostonfan49 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    321
    Loc:
    Essex Jct. Vermont
    flynfrfun...It was me that Enviro gave me a different diverter bar and capacitor! The diverter bar has wider blades and the replacement capacitor supposedly slows down the RPM's bait......All I can say is , Fan 3 is noisier than the old blower..but I am used to it, and no sound complaints from my wife. The new blower bushes a lot more air...period. I use fan 4 for a quicker warm up, but otherwise still too loud for everyday use. Still running the stove, have about 500 lbs of pellets remaining and zero problems this winter to date....yippie!

    Bill
  7. flynfrfun

    flynfrfun Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Loc:
    Bonney Lake, WA
    Hi Bill, thanks for the info. Your mention of the diverter bar makes me think I might try some mods on mine to see if I can make out any difference. Here in W. WA I am still using the stove for heat and will be until at least the end of April. So after that I hope to take it apart and try some things out. If I could figure out how to get rid of the harmonic noise I would be really happy. Like you I'm used to it, but it's fun to see if I can improve it too.:)
  8. Blkjac1224

    Blkjac1224 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Loc:
    S.Nh
    Thanks for the conversation being started back up. I put the old fan blade cage on the new motor it did get rid of the whistle. The hum is still there I was thinking of trying a in circuit switch to regulate the fan speed to see if the hum will go away. It does push the heat faster which is great and shut down is faster. The fan noise is louder but is easy to get used to. THAT HUM IS JUST MADDENING.
  9. flynfrfun

    flynfrfun Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Loc:
    Bonney Lake, WA
    I had my stove out this weekend and did some mods. I've got the electrical hum pretty much gone, but still have the whistle. Blkjac...try isolating the blower mounts with 1.5"x4" pads of lytherm or silicone rubber. Don't tighten the bolts all the way down, just snug. That seems to have isolated the motor hum and I can barely hear it now.

    Thanks for the feedback on the old squirrel cage eliminating the whistle. I put a rubber band around the middle of the squirrel cage and it had reduced the whistle which in my case appears to be partly a harmonic resonance of the blades of the squirrel cage. My next mod is to cut the blades down flush where they stick out of the ends of the squirrel cage ends. I'm thinking the air spilling over the edge of each vane could be causing the whistle.

Share This Page