Magnum baby Countryside - many issues

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi there,

This is my first time posting on this forum, my husband and I had a Magnum baby countryside installed in our home just before Christmas (2011). The first problem we had was the fact the wrong burn pot was in the stove and it was stuck, the small company we purchased it from did the install as well and was very wishy-washy about getting it out, he had no clue how to do it and we ended up waiting two weeks for the fellow to return to try to remove the pot, in the end he got it out and put the proper pot in. We have had 5 or 6 days where we could get almost 20 hours of burn time out of the stove before having to turn it off and dump the pot, the normal average was about 12-15 hours at most (on settings 1-2 or 3 no less, we could never run it on 4 or 5 and get more than 6 hours out of it before having to turn it off). Now the normal is 7-10 hours before having to turn it off and dump the pot, we now have to turn it off three times a day to run it. We can never leave it on while we are not home because we have had times where we would check it in the middle of the night and the wood pellets are backed all the way up the shoot and it is STILL running, it has yet to go into "auto" shutdown mode on it's own and it scares us. We have complained to the company on a number of occasions and he has yet to do anything about it and has stated he will be charging us service. time for it. The stove has NEVER worked right! He even broke the clips on the right hand side of the stove for the large side doors