1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
  1. 8Caroline8

    8Caroline8 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Hi everybody,

    let me just introduce myself real quick. I'm a single mom of two little girls and I have a Harman PP38+ stove that doesn't work at the moment. It was cleaned, all the wires were checked, the fuse is fine, but every time it's plugged in it trips the outlet. The Tech that's checking it is very thorough. I need to find the Manual for this stove and if you guys could tell me where to look that would be wonderful I can't be without this stove. It was 58 F in the house this morning which is to cold for us.
    I don't really know anything about this stove but I need help.

    Thanks for your time,
    Caroline

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. imacman

    imacman Guest

  3. 8Caroline8

    8Caroline8 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you, I figured somebody has more knowledge about this than I do. I will send it to the tech. And also,
    do you think this might be my problem?

    Ibcynya hit it right on the nose. It`s a potentiometer on it`s way out. I ordered both pots, one for the fan speed and one for the feed rate. While I have it apart I`ll change em both. For $16 it`s gonna be a cheap and easy fix.
    This will be the only repair ever done on the stove.

    I found this on here. Grrr....and Brrrr....I'm going crazy with this.
  4. ducker

    ducker Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    378
    Loc:
    Leominster, MA
    Do you have the link to that specific post you found?

    A P38 doesn't require much power at all. So I really think it has something to do with the stove itself.

    That being said, What is it tripping exactly? A power strip? a GFI outlet? a circuit breaker on your main electrical panel?

    If all the wires are clean, and he checked the fuse (to make sure that it's for the correct AMPs, looks like it might be brains of the unit.

    Did it ever work?
  5. 8Caroline8

    8Caroline8 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Hi ducker,

    I'm sorry if I'm not explaining this to well. I'm from Germany so this is not really a field of expertise I can talk about.
    It's just tripping the outlet after plugging the stove back in. It's not tripping anything in the basement and the outlet seems fine when I plug other things in.
    The Tech that was here has a set of cables that he plugged into the transformer and that worked. The fans are spinning. The feeder is working. He checked every single cable but he doesn't know why it trips. (He was here for 1.5 hrs. and didn't charge me) He started with the cleaning of the stove and we thought it would be an easy fix but now I think I will need a new control board. Which is very simple looking.

    Here is the threat that I copied from:
    http://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/help-i-need-a-control-board-for-harman-pp38.76210/

    The two knobs are very loose so I thought this might be my problem?

    HELP!!

    Please and thank you.
    Caroline
  6. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    sounds like the tech tested all motors successfully......possibly time for a new control board....P38 boards from the "old" two knob stoves are no longer available through Harman, but some dealers still have the "old" boards in stock...they are about $200/board tho. harman does have a retrofit kit available as well, but it is somewhat involved as to actually retrofitting the unit....requires cutting the steel for the new board, a bit of wiring work, etc....if it is the board, and you have an old 2 knob P38, I'd look for an old board.

    guten tag!
  7. 8Caroline8

    8Caroline8 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Danke schoen!

    He was saying the new control board was about $300. Would you just get the newest version out there for thinking long term?

    Thanks again Lousyweather.

    If anybody can think of anything else, please let me know. Otherwise I will have to order it on Monday.
  8. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    Caroline: checking with a knowledgeable, good looking, and honest dealer near me ==c , that board should be around $192 or so, plus tax. Could be the tech is also including the labor to do the work in that $300?
    There are advantages to the newest kit.....its the "old" P61 board, so has room sensor probe jacks (hellooooo, thermostatic control!), has a DDM port for the helpful tech to diagnose issues, just to name a few things...although the labor cost will largely be higher to do the retrofit, and the cost on a retrofit kit is roughly $225 for the kit alone.
    My kneekerk on this is to try and get an "old" version board.....easier and quicker. If you ever need to replace it again, you'll have no choice probably but to install a retrofit kit, but, speaking from experience, being a single parent can be taxing on the wallet, and you might be in a better position at a later date (apologies if I overstepped there!)

    Viel Gluck!
  9. 8Caroline8

    8Caroline8 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    with Harman stoves they want me to test the ESP sensor or change out the circuit board. Both ways involve ordering parts that are non returnable. Call me when you get this. Tom

    This is what he said, what do you guys think of this?

Share This Page