MANY QUESTIONS

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I will admit I am a paranoid wreck, when it comes to wood stoves. I am a firefighter and an insurance guy.......so that accounts for me being scared to death of this thing. Any way on to my questions. I have a LOPI Endeavor.... 1)I am curious what cook top temp should be as well as stack.... I have had cook top to 700 with a stack temp of 300 my stack never really gets much above 300. 2) I have had this a couple times now...the stove will not back down...extinguish with a spray bottle or extinguisher and find that the wood load has turned to all very hot coals that can not be controlled! Is this due to coals or a problem with the stove? If it is the coals why is the stove producing them? 3) tonight I had it closed up for the night, and i heard this roaring....what it was is the secondary burn.....it would go out and then erupt so violently that it would blow smoke out of the stove.....I fiddled with the controlls and nothing help it but to spray with water and again remove the abundance of very hot coals! I find if the stove goes over 550 it WILL NOT COME BACK DOWN! it will climb untill the wood is used up, the highest I have got is 750 cook top, and the manual says 800 is over fire!

I guess in a nut shell my main problem is the wood cooking down to coals instead of burning up. Is this normal for epa stoves or am I doing something wrong? Should you still be able to back the stove off with these coals..... I close everything up and the temp continues to rise!!