Martin Venturi Stove owners

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

trobb

Nov 24, 2009
N.Ky.
Newbie here and need some advice.
I have a Martin Venturi pellet stove.
Like most pellet stoves it has forced air which also pushes the smoke out.
Here is my problem...
When burning there is no smoke smell at all, after I turn the stove off...which stops the fan pushing the smoke out, the next morning my basement is filled with smoke smell.
I have experimented with a few differant things to no avail.
Once you turn the stove off you can watch the firebox fill with smoke and it just trickles
out the pipe outside, and the pot just sits and smolders all night.
I have Simpson Duravent that is sealed up good and tight and I have already replaced
the rope gasket on the door.
I have done the dark room and flashlight thing...nothing.
The only thing I can think of is that the outside draw is not pulling the smoke out fast enough.
I also tried cracking the ash door and it seemed to really help push the smoke out faster.

Any ideas?

When you "turn off" the stove the fan stops? Are you unplugging it? To my knowledge the exhaust fan should continue to run for some length of time until the fire and smoldering is completely out and the stove temp drops below a set temp. Adding more positive draft to the exhaust venting will help, but that fan should stay running (I believe).
Mike -