maybe a dumb question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

steeltowninwv

Minister of Fire
Nov 16, 2010
west virginia
OK this is my first year getting ahead...all this years wood is in the wood shed...next years is in the yard uncovered....is this OK for next years wood...just wondering if its OK to leave uncovered thru the winter?

You're likely to get a mix of answers here. It's certainly okay, but I'm in the same situation, and I cover mine (winter here amounts to moderate amounts of rain, and snow pack for a few months at a time; we may have two feet of snow come and go over the course of a couple weeks). I think of it as extending the amount of dry weather available between winters... if the wood soaks up a bunch of water during the winter, a portion of the drying season is spent drying that out first, before it can pick up where it left off really seasoning the wood. I don't think it's a deal breaker though.

yep...

i leave subsequent year's wood uncovered until the snow falls then cover it for the winter only.

this years wood i always top cover it. always have. does that mean its the most effective strategy?
absolutely not. just what makes sense to me. but i'm a addict so nothing i say should be taken seriously.

Is it OK? I think most people here would agree it is at least OK. Maybe not ideal, but OK. Leaving wood uncovered until the last year is the way some of the most experienced wood burners here do it, so you can't go wrong that way.