Measuring heat

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ootski

Jan 9, 2008
Fredonia NY
Other than hanging a meat thermometer in front of the unit, is there any definitive way of measuring heat output???? I would like to know if the new pellets I am using are better than the old ones tks

I DO use a meat thermometer!

I am no scientist but here is what I do:

I have a kitchen meat thermometer (digital, with about a 2ft cord) set about 3ft in front of the stove. The probe hangs in the air close to where the unit can blow right on it. I leave it in the same place.
I have a stove thermometer on the front of the stove I also leave in the same place.
I have an indoor/outdoor thermometer and leave both sides in the same place.
I also look at the digital thermostat that is used for the oil heat, located in another part of the house.

Using all of those, I change pellets or stove settings (not both at the same time) and keep track of the differences. The only variable I can't control is the outside air temperature.

For instance, if I run the stove on a 1-7 setting with an outside temp of 35deg and the Fireside pellets I have now, I get temp at 3ft of 82-84deg.
Same outside temp and same stove settings with Clean Energy pellets and I get 87-89 degrees at the same 3ft distance. Stove surface temp will also be about 50deg hotter. The other thermometers help me keep track of changes over time.
To me, it seems fairly clear that one burns hotter than the other. It's enough to guide my pellet buying decisions.