1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Mendota, delay in turn on/off

Post in 'It's a Gas!' started by Jane02556, Oct 31, 2013.

  1. Jane02556

    Jane02556 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Cape cod
    My friend called this morning and said his Mendota insert would not turn on, then after about 5 minutes, it did and ran fine. Then when he went to turn it off, it didnt, he called me for help as he is almost 90 years old. As we were talking, it turned off. About 5 or 10 minute delay.
    Batteries in remote are OK, and there is no wind this morning here on Cape Cod.
    Thanks in advance,
    Jane

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,893
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Did somebody actually TEST the batteries? What kind of vDC readings are they giving?
  3. Jane02556

    Jane02556 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Cape cod
    His son in law supposedly put in new batteries, but I think I better have my husband bring some new batteries anyway.
    Last year, his son in law did re-arrange the logs after he was told not to. But the people who installed it, did a service call, after I notified them, and it has been running fine till this morning.
    Yes, we will arrive with new batteries soon as we can get to his house. Thank you.
  4. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,893
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    There is a problem with"new" batteries. You have NO idea how long thay've been sitting on a shelf - either in a warehouse or in the store.
    Before you install them, TEST them. Use a multitester set to volts DC. That is the ONLY way to confirm their charges...Make sure the voltage is actually higher than they are rated for. Most remotes are VERY sesitive to even minimal voltage drops....
  5. Jane02556

    Jane02556 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Cape cod
    I will have my husband bring his battery tester with us. Or buy some new ones at Radio Shack and have them tested before we install them.
    Our Comcast remote is the most rugged and abused remote in the world, but it never gave up. But I can certainly see how one of these is far more delicate and important.
  6. Ironhorse74

    Ironhorse74 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Loc:
    The Great Pacific North Wet
    What model and how old? MIG 30/40 D30/40 or FV 33/44?
  7. Jane02556

    Jane02556 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Cape cod
    Im not sure of the purchase date nor the model #, but my husband will be there Saturday and will start off with new batteries.
    I will see if I can find the inst manual, which he claims he cant find.
    Then if we dont get good results with the batteries, we will call the installer's repair dept, its a close by company.
    Thank you for the advice, Im pretty sure its a battery problem too.

Share This Page