Milder climate - How to burn correctly?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

flyingpig

Jan 23, 2010
Cary, NC
I am relatively new to the wood burning and have got my first experience since earlier this year. We’ve moved to near Raleigh, NC last June, which is not terribly cold compare with lots of other folks on the north. And this milder climate makes me think that it may be a different way to keep the stove burning compare to the very cold climate.

I have a 2400 sq.ft. not so well insulated Colonial with a Lopi Declaration. As a typical Colonial, it’s not much of the open floor plan so the living room can get very hot when the stove runs at full blast. Other rooms on the first floor were around 69~70 which was very nice. I’m working on reinsulated/caulking the house now so it should be much warmer this winter. And the full throttle Lopi may turn to be a bit too hot for us!

I’ve learnt a lot from here that we should pack the stove full, run them until the end of cycle before feeding woods again. The heat cycle should be between 4-7 hours depends on the air control. But the room temperature different between the peak and toward the end of the cycle can be too much….too hot in the peak (80F) and too cold at the end (60F).

So I think I should consult with our Pyro engineer fellows here for any valuable suggestion. In case I’m home most of the time, will it be better that I feed the stove with smaller amount of wood, keep the shorter cycle but feed them more often?

Thanks in advance…….Som

Welcome to the forum.