Mixing coal with pellets in pellet stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

94ZA4

Dec 8, 2006
Hey alll, I am new to this whole pellet stove thing, I have an Englander stove, I forget the model, but it is the small one. Anyway I have been using pellets and corn/Pellet mix. I realy don't see a diffrence, once adjusted the corn just seems to burn faster and hotter, but a hopper does not last as long. I was wondering if a small mix of pea coal midxed in with the pellets would work. I know coal is a much higer BTU and I will melt the thing down if I use too much, but I was thinking like a 10-15%. Would it work, and at that mix would it still be OK for the stove? These cold NY nights tend to use up 40lb of pellets, just trying to extend the burn time and heat output a little.

Andrew

Someone out there must have tried it in the past. Anyone? Would it hurt to burn 1 40lb bag of pellets mixed with 10lb of coal through? I would imagine at that % any damage would be over time, not immediate, correct?

No, not unless it is designed to burn coal. It could destroy the guts of your pellet stove. Coal burns to hot, and it releases corosive gasses. Burn wood based products in your pellet stove. Also the clinker would be HUGE.

Even at a low % you think it could cause damage? I did not know that coal produced clinkers, I thought that was a corn sugar thing.

Oops, I meant 4 lbs of coal, not 10, for a 10% mixture coal to 90% pellet.

Thanks for the tip, last thing I want to do is damage it.