More narrowed down thread to continue...........

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

teeravis1

Hey guys,

I have been researching the pellet stoves for about 6 months, but was looking for some opinions now from some actual owners of the stoves. I do have a few friends with pellet stoves, but they have only had them a few years if that, so I am looking for some long term reviews (as long as possible anyway). So a little more info about what I have. I have a two story house, 1200 sq ft a floor, so with the basement 3600 all together. The stoves I am leaning towards are the Quadrafire Mt Vernon AE, or the Harman P68. However, I would like any feed back on the Breckwell Big E anyone could give. Also on the St Croix stoves on their website they don’t list the BTU their stoves put out or the sq ft they can heat, can anyone tell me this info on the Hastings, Prescott EXP, & Prescott EXL? My plan is to put the stove in my basement, cut a vent in my main cold air return of my ductwork near the stove, and run the blower of my forced air furnace on low to circulate the heat thru the house. My thought is with the natural heat rise and the circulation of heat thru the duct work I will be able to heat the house. I have a buddy that did this with his ranch style house and it works great, not sure exactly how well it will work with a two story house...............Man I’m out of breath. So any thoughts or info on the stoves I mentioned or opinions on how my plan is going to work or not work would be much appreciated.- Thanks for all the replies so far, I’ll be waiting to hear your thoug