Moving air around??

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bone1099

Jan 5, 2009
Northwest GA
I have been strugling to heat with a fisher insert for about 5 years now and im just tired of runnung blowers and fans and ceiling fans just to stay kinda warm in the bedroom, My house is roughly 1500 sq ft and insulated about average but it is just hard to heat the far end of the house. I am confident that my stove is capable of heating this area and most of my problem is a crappy floorplan for my stove installation. The most success i have had has been this year. I finally broke down and bought a box fan to sit in the hallway and blow the cold air from the bedroms to the kitchen/dining room where the stove is. Then I use a makeshift blower in front of the stove(blue blower) and a ceiling fan to further stir things up. and all this just pisses me off thinking that by the time i run all that extra crap I coud just run the electric heat. So what im thinking of doing next is installing a decorative register in the ceiling in the dining room above the stove. Then an insulated duct all the way to the end of the house split into two smaller registers in the bedroom ceilings with some kind of inline blower or squirrel cage fan to move the warm air from the area above the stove to the bedrooms and also allow the same amount of cool air from the bedrooms to return to the dining room via the hallway creating a nice circulation path. Then only run this duct fan and not all the other gadgets i have piled up. But im sure there is some unforseen pitfall to this theory so if anyone has tried any