1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

MT Venon AE Flame Height

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by jmlarson, Dec 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmlarson

    jmlarson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Loc:
    Central, PA
    Installed my Mt Vernon AE this past weekend. Anyone tell me why the flame height is strong some times then it barely leaves the burn pot at other times. Burning Premium Hardwood Pellets on hardwood pellet setting. Temp set at 68 deg. any help is apperciated.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Philip

    Philip New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Loc:
    Huntsville, AL
    I'm new to pellet stoves, too, having just installed mine last Friday. On level 1 and 2 my stove seems to flare up and then die almost out, also, but it seems to have a more consistant flame on levels 3, 4 and 5. I think it is tied to the pellet supply in the burn pot. When I have it set on level one - the lowest - the auger doesn't feed the pellets very fast and since the pellets range from 1/4" long to 1" long, if the auger drops a 1" long pellet into the burn pot, the flame builds up more than if the pellet is only 1/4" long. My manual says I may not be able to leave the stove on level one because it may go out. It also says the size of the pellets will change the volume of fuel being fed. I moved it to level 2 last night to be sure it didn't go out during the night.
  3. Deed

    Deed Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Loc:
    Central Me
    It all has to do with the amount of fuel in the burn plate. The more fuel the more flame.
  4. jmlarson

    jmlarson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Loc:
    Central, PA
    I have my flame height setting on +4 right now and it actually looks like a good flame. seems like a high feed rate though. I figured out that i do burn less pellets on Utility setting rather than Hard Wood setting.
  5. Jabberwocky

    Jabberwocky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    Central Massachusetts
    My flame height does not stay the same. I run mine on auto all the time and my flame height adjuster is set at 0. I think the way I set up mine, the circuit board is doing all the work and so it drops various amounts of fuel to render consistent heat flow .. then when it gets close to the desired temp the stove kicks into low so as to not have to restart 15 minutes later.
  6. bdcbean

    bdcbean New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Loc:
    New Zealand
    edit:

    Old thread. sorry posted by mistake..
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page