Mt Vernon settings

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fishpole

Apr 26, 2008
Central Ma
Hi Everyone,

I'm a beginner to pellet stove heating and owner of the Quadrafire Mt Vernon insert and 7 tons of New England Hardwood Pellets. Lately I have been playing around with the different settings to get a feel on how the stove works (flame height/feed rate, comfort setting, heat output, and manual or auto) and was just wondering what some of you set your stove at to heat your homes, especially in the dead of winter. My home is approx. 1700sq ft. The stove is in the living room with a 20 ft cathedral ceiling that opens up to 3 bedrooms. There is a ceiling fan in the room also to move the heat around. If you don't mind sharing your settings and also just an estimate on the amount of pellets you roughly burn on an average winter day so that I could get an idea of what I have to look forward to.

Thanks
Chris

I set mine on -2 for flame height and 4 for heat output. It seems to work pretty well for me. My dealer set these for me when the install was done. To tell you the truth, though, is that I played around with the flame height from -5 to +5 and didn't even really notice much of a difference in flame height.