Mulling over some options for installation (Jotul, Hearthstone, etc.)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tommytman

Apr 13, 2014
CT
I should start by saying that I'm new to burning and the past couple winters I have burned in the fireplace. While the fireplace looks great, the BTUs flowing out my chimney make me want to cry. I have been looking into installing a freestanding stove for this upcoming winter and need help mulling over some options. A couple of my main concerns are:

1. I don't want the stove/hearth pad taking up the majority of my living room.
2. I'm concerned about what the heat will do to my mantle.
3. Looks are VERY important to my mother (the stove is going in my folks place) and the seal of approval is going to depend something visually pleasing.

My initial top choice was the Jotul Oslo 500. My uncle has one that is about 12 years old and he absolutely loves it and has never had a problem. After checking it out in person yesterday, I though it was a beautiful stove. However, after taking some measurements the depth of it seems to be a little much. The dealer I went to also sells Hearthstone stoves so I checked out a couple (mainly the Heritage). When I looked at the Heritage, the depth was much smaller and the clearances also seemed lower (so much so that the Oslo w/hearth pad would stick out over a foot more. The Mansfield also seems like a good option. It would stick out a little more than the Heritage, but the no side door seems like a deal killer.