1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Multiple Error Codes on Mt. Vernon AE

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by JoeS, Jan 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JoeS

    JoeS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Loc:
    Maryland
    Well I came home to a cold house and worse than that the propane has kicked on! Mt. Vernon Insert shut down and showed (3) error codes:
    COMB BLOWER OVER 1
    CONV BLOWER OVER 1
    MAX DROP TUBE TEMP

    Tried to reset and wouldn't, finally just switched the power off and rebooted. I have her back up and running now but can anyone tell me what could have caused this?

    I am getting ready to call my dealer as well.

    Thanks! JoeS

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. stoveguy13

    stoveguy13 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    985
    Loc:
    CT
    the convection blower is probally bad or there is a bad connection. the max drop tube error was caused by the convection blower not working wich then shut the stove off to prevent the stove from over heating. call the dealer and have them check and maybe change the convection blower.
  3. JoeS

    JoeS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Loc:
    Maryland
    The convection blower was just changed and right now it is running fine. I am wondering if it could have been caused by the high winds we had here today? Negative pressure or not enough draft? I am searching here I just don't know.
  4. stoveguy13

    stoveguy13 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    985
    Loc:
    CT
    Nothing to do with it the convection blower would not be affected by the wind the stove it self should not be it is a most it is a issue with the blower or the conections to it
  5. JoeS

    JoeS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Loc:
    Maryland
    Thanks, I have a call into the dealer now and will let you know the outcome.
  6. stoveguy13

    stoveguy13 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    985
    Loc:
    CT
    good luck there was a bad bunch of convection blower wireing harness issue i would have them look at that as well not just the blower
  7. smg64ct

    smg64ct Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Loc:
    Connecticut
    How do you like your Mt vernon otherwise? I called stove dealer today and they steered me away from it. They told me there just having too many problems. He also said its being made or the parts are in China (hope not). he said get a Harmon.
  8. JoeS

    JoeS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Loc:
    Maryland
    The stove itself is great, the heat it cranks out is exceptional. I am heating an area in excess of 3,500 sq/ft and the stove is up to the task. I did have issues with the stove initially but I must admit that my dealer and Quadrafire have been there to resolve these problems. The stove is made in Washington and I don't know about any parts made in China. Harman also makes a good product and Harman by the way is now owned by the same company that owns Quadrafire.
  9. smg64ct

    smg64ct Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Loc:
    Connecticut
    Thanks Joe,

    I'm going to give it a second look. I really like the way it looks in willow. I do need more heat than my current unit is putting out.
  10. stoveguy13

    stoveguy13 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    985
    Loc:
    CT
    the mt vernon is not made in china the stove is to smart for its own good sometimes and can be either absolutely wonderfull or a complete nightmare i would not buy one this season if i was you steve
  11. JoeS

    JoeS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Loc:
    Maryland
    Well it happened again, Mt. Vernon AE Insert shut down but this time only showed (2) and not (3) error codes:

    COMB BLOWER OVER 1
    CONV BLOWER OVER 1
    MAX DROP TUBE TEMP (This one didn't appear this time)

    Tried to reset and wouldn't, finally just switched the power off and rebooted. I have her back up and running now. Both times this has happened is when it has been windy with the winds coming from the west to south west. I don't know if there is a relation or not it is just something I noticed!
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page