Mwp softwood reviews

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tumbles

Oct 26, 2008
Southern Maine
Anybody burn the Maine softwood pellets this past winter? I burned Okies last winter and was very happy with them. However, I would like to find out if the Maine softies were any good.

I have no first hand knowledge of how they are but everything I've read on here has been positive to the point I now have 2 tons in my basement for this year.

I have no first hand knowledge of how they are but everything I've read on here has been positive to the point I now have 2 tons in my basement for this year.

I asked sib and they said they were getting like 8900 btu's and less than .5 ash. They sound really good and for 60 less a ton than Okies I like them even more!

I get confused as to which are which.... Which ones are the MWP that Home Depot sells?

I believe that the softies only went out to pellet houses, since they are a very limited supply run and very much sought after by the dealers this year. I would be real surprised to see them at a big box.

I asked sib and they said they were getting like 8900 btu's and less than .5 ash. They sound really good and for 60 less a ton than Okies I like them even more!

Same comments form Great Works Biofuels, very high heat and almost zero ash on last years run. And same reason I dropped the Spruce Points this year: pricing difference.
Let's just hope that this years run is as good as last year. I did burn half a ton of mix last year, good pellet there as well.