My Accentra is defective, and I like it that way

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

smirnov3

Feeling the Heat
Feb 7, 2006
Eastern Ma
Howdy.

this rant is about how I gave up and learned to love the bomb (err, dud)

I have an Accentra insert which from day 1 didn't work right, but as a pellet newbie I didn't realize the problem for a couple of years.

you see, the insert's feedrate maxes out at just over 3 lbs an hour. An accentra should be able to do about 5lbs.

The stove works great, and does a good job of heating the house, except in January / February, when it can't keep up. I got into the habit of turning on the oil heat for an hour a day, to make up the differance.

I just thought that the stove's max BTUs were too low, until I sat down & calculated how much pellets it was using and realized something was screwy

But after that, I got to thinking - if the stove ran at 5lbs, I would need to feed it 3 bags of pellets a day, rather than 2, and most days nobody is home to do that in the afternoon to top off the stove.

also, on the really cold days, the heat distribution in the house would be more extreme - the room with the stove would be hotter, while the back bedrooms would see little benefit from the extra fire. but with a touch of oil heat, the temperature in the house is better balanced

so I LIKE my Accentra being a little defective

am I nuts?

if it is broken take it back ... or call get what you paid 4 those things are alotta money ...

in order to use 5lbs an hr it has to be all the way up on stove temp -and let it go for 8 hrs ...

Anton Smirnov said: