My Englander mistake...

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Joey, Oct 6, 2012.

  1. Joey

    Joey
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    16
    Loc:
    Northeastern USA/ Dirty Jersey/Ocean County
    I guess we all make mistakes, some of us more then others. I recently purchased a 30NC to replace my Napoleon 1402 insert. I knew I need the 6 inch legs with the Englander to use it as a free standing stove in my fireplace. Well,,,guess what, my calculations were about 2 inches off, and the 30 won't fit the proper way. I had my stove guy here yesterday who gave me the bad news. Without modifying my hearth, it just can't be done. What an a*& I am !! So my new Englander is now for sale and it looks like I am going with a Regency I3100 insert in my fireplace. Its the biggest unit that will fit, 2.9cf firebox isn't that bad. I have a local dealer which is nice. Whats not so nice is the price tag. I can buy 3 Englanders for what the Regency is gonna cost me. But at least I know it will fit. I guess I will wait to change the stove in my signature until the Regency gets installed. Live and learn.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Beetle-Kill

    Beetle-Kill
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    210
    Loc:
    Colorado- near the Divide
    Cut 3" off the legs and put some Micore under it. legs are relatively cheap.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    certified106, BrowningBAR and jtb51b like this.
  3. rottiman

    rottiman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    230
    Loc:
    Ontario Canada
    Your $$$$, your choice. I second Beetle Kills suggestion. I love my thirty in the fireplace. Lots of bang for the $$$$$. Went from a Regency Insert to it, and haven't looked back.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    BrowningBAR likes this.
  4. rwhite

    rwhite
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    69
    Loc:
    SW Idaho
    IS there a difference between the pedestal and leg height? If not I'd cut the legs or have some made.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart
    Expand Collapse
    Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    32,179
    Likes Received:
    9,463
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    What is the height from the floor of the fireplace to the bottom of the lintel?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    Pedestal is about the same height as the 9" legs.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. rwhite

    rwhite
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    69
    Loc:
    SW Idaho
    What is the construction of the fireplace floor? If solid concrete another option may be to bore 4 leg holes into the concrete 2" deep.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. BIGDADDY

    BIGDADDY
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    115
    If you cut 3" off the legs will that affect opening the ash drawer?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    Removing 3" would put you at just about the same depth as the ash drawer.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. BIGDADDY

    BIGDADDY
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    115
    That's not good.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    Well, he only needs to reduce the height by 2 inches. He can cut 2.5-2.75 inches and still have some air space between the ash drawer.

    I'm not recommending he does it, but I would seriously consider it if I was in that situation.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. Joey

    Joey
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    16
    Loc:
    Northeastern USA/ Dirty Jersey/Ocean County
    Thanks for the responses. I thought about cutting the legs even shorter, but the ash drawer would just be to close to the floor. Interior of the firebox floor is brick. The installer just has no room to work with his hands to get the stove pipe attached once the stove is installed.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. mikesin

    mikesin
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Loc:
    Pa
    Wow does that stink!! I would be concerned about the insurance co voiding a claim if something would go bad
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart
    Expand Collapse
    Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    32,179
    Likes Received:
    9,463
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    For a lot less than three grand a local shop can fab 3/8" plate steel legs any height he wants.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart
    Expand Collapse
    Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    32,179
    Likes Received:
    9,463
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    I only had three inches to work with. Actually I had to tip the stove back to clear the flue collar under the lintel sliding it into the fireplace. Installed the 30 degree angle elbow on the liner then slid the stove in and inserted the elbow as I slid it in. No fun but it worked.

    That is why I want to know the lintel height.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. Joey

    Joey
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    16
    Loc:
    Northeastern USA/ Dirty Jersey/Ocean County
    Thanks Bart, I appreciate it. I have a housefull of company now, will measure tomorrow.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  17. Beetle-Kill

    Beetle-Kill
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    210
    Loc:
    Colorado- near the Divide
    next suggestion- remove the ash drawer, weld in a block-off plate. This would not cost much.
    Install stove body on wooden wedges, hook up flue pipe to stove and hammer wedges together to get the stove up to height.
    install shortened legs and remove wedges, install the Micore if required.
    Loss of the ash drawer wouldn't bug me at all.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  18. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart
    Expand Collapse
    Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    32,179
    Likes Received:
    9,463
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Won't work. The primary air intake box is behind that ash pan frame and about the same depth.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  19. Joey

    Joey
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    16
    Loc:
    Northeastern USA/ Dirty Jersey/Ocean County
    Lintel is just under 29 inches, couldn't help myself, had to measure !!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  20. fire_man

    fire_man
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    368
    Loc:
    North Eastern MA
    What about hooking up using a thimbal in the chimney??

    That was my nightmare when I installed my PH. It fit, but not much wiggle room. My plan B was to install a thimbal.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  21. PLAYS WITH FIRE

    PLAYS WITH FIRE
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    96
    Loc:
    Pittsburgh, Pa.
    Maybe you can attach the liner from inside the stove? When I was installing mine, I thought that I had to do it this way because of my clearance. Well, I did not but I made provisions for this. I attached my coupler to the stove predrilled the holes for the self-tappers so that I pull the liner with the coupler in to the stove then run the self tappers from the inside out. It would have worked, tight though.

    When you want something to happen, you get crafty!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  22. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    This should work.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  23. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    Perfect! Give them all work gloves and a hacksaw and start on those legs! ;)
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  24. remkel

    remkel
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    197
    Loc:
    Southwest NH
    Well, ya'll lost me at cutting the legs :) that was my first thought when I read the original post.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  25. Beetle-Kill

    Beetle-Kill
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    210
    Loc:
    Colorado- near the Divide
    If the 30 is like the 13, I see what you're say'in. It won't work as I suggested. You are correct, I apologize.
    But... if the 13 is the same as the 30, I have an idea. No, I won't publish my ignorance any further on these mods., but I do have an idea.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information