1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

My Englander mistake...

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Joey, Oct 6, 2012.

  1. Joey

    Joey Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Loc:
    Northeastern USA/ Dirty Jersey/Ocean County
    I guess we all make mistakes, some of us more then others. I recently purchased a 30NC to replace my Napoleon 1402 insert. I knew I need the 6 inch legs with the Englander to use it as a free standing stove in my fireplace. Well,,,guess what, my calculations were about 2 inches off, and the 30 won't fit the proper way. I had my stove guy here yesterday who gave me the bad news. Without modifying my hearth, it just can't be done. What an a*& I am !! So my new Englander is now for sale and it looks like I am going with a Regency I3100 insert in my fireplace. Its the biggest unit that will fit, 2.9cf firebox isn't that bad. I have a local dealer which is nice. Whats not so nice is the price tag. I can buy 3 Englanders for what the Regency is gonna cost me. But at least I know it will fit. I guess I will wait to change the stove in my signature until the Regency gets installed. Live and learn.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Beetle-Kill

    Beetle-Kill Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,849
    Loc:
    Colorado- near the Divide
    Cut 3" off the legs and put some Micore under it. legs are relatively cheap.
    certified106, BrowningBAR and jtb51b like this.
  3. rottiman

    rottiman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102
    Loc:
    Ontario Canada
    Your $$$$, your choice. I second Beetle Kills suggestion. I love my thirty in the fireplace. Lots of bang for the $$$$$. Went from a Regency Insert to it, and haven't looked back.
    BrowningBAR likes this.
  4. rwhite

    rwhite Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    604
    Loc:
    SW Idaho
    IS there a difference between the pedestal and leg height? If not I'd cut the legs or have some made.
  5. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    28,634
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    What is the height from the floor of the fireplace to the bottom of the lintel?
  6. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    Pedestal is about the same height as the 9" legs.
  7. rwhite

    rwhite Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    604
    Loc:
    SW Idaho
    What is the construction of the fireplace floor? If solid concrete another option may be to bore 4 leg holes into the concrete 2" deep.
  8. BIGDADDY

    BIGDADDY Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    356
    If you cut 3" off the legs will that affect opening the ash drawer?
  9. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    Removing 3" would put you at just about the same depth as the ash drawer.
  10. BIGDADDY

    BIGDADDY Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    356
    That's not good.
  11. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    Well, he only needs to reduce the height by 2 inches. He can cut 2.5-2.75 inches and still have some air space between the ash drawer.

    I'm not recommending he does it, but I would seriously consider it if I was in that situation.
  12. Joey

    Joey Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Loc:
    Northeastern USA/ Dirty Jersey/Ocean County
    Thanks for the responses. I thought about cutting the legs even shorter, but the ash drawer would just be to close to the floor. Interior of the firebox floor is brick. The installer just has no room to work with his hands to get the stove pipe attached once the stove is installed.
  13. mikesin

    mikesin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Loc:
    Pa
    Wow does that stink!! I would be concerned about the insurance co voiding a claim if something would go bad
  14. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    28,634
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    For a lot less than three grand a local shop can fab 3/8" plate steel legs any height he wants.
  15. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    28,634
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    I only had three inches to work with. Actually I had to tip the stove back to clear the flue collar under the lintel sliding it into the fireplace. Installed the 30 degree angle elbow on the liner then slid the stove in and inserted the elbow as I slid it in. No fun but it worked.

    That is why I want to know the lintel height.
  16. Joey

    Joey Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Loc:
    Northeastern USA/ Dirty Jersey/Ocean County
    Thanks Bart, I appreciate it. I have a housefull of company now, will measure tomorrow.
  17. Beetle-Kill

    Beetle-Kill Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,849
    Loc:
    Colorado- near the Divide
    next suggestion- remove the ash drawer, weld in a block-off plate. This would not cost much.
    Install stove body on wooden wedges, hook up flue pipe to stove and hammer wedges together to get the stove up to height.
    install shortened legs and remove wedges, install the Micore if required.
    Loss of the ash drawer wouldn't bug me at all.
  18. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    28,634
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Won't work. The primary air intake box is behind that ash pan frame and about the same depth.
  19. Joey

    Joey Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Loc:
    Northeastern USA/ Dirty Jersey/Ocean County
    Lintel is just under 29 inches, couldn't help myself, had to measure !!
  20. fire_man

    fire_man Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,504
    Loc:
    Eastern Ma
    What about hooking up using a thimbal in the chimney??

    That was my nightmare when I installed my PH. It fit, but not much wiggle room. My plan B was to install a thimbal.
  21. PLAYS WITH FIRE

    PLAYS WITH FIRE Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    639
    Loc:
    Pittsburgh, Pa.
    Maybe you can attach the liner from inside the stove? When I was installing mine, I thought that I had to do it this way because of my clearance. Well, I did not but I made provisions for this. I attached my coupler to the stove predrilled the holes for the self-tappers so that I pull the liner with the coupler in to the stove then run the self tappers from the inside out. It would have worked, tight though.

    When you want something to happen, you get crafty!
  22. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    This should work.
  23. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    Perfect! Give them all work gloves and a hacksaw and start on those legs! ;)
  24. remkel

    remkel Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,459
    Loc:
    Southwest NH
    Well, ya'll lost me at cutting the legs :) that was my first thought when I read the original post.
  25. Beetle-Kill

    Beetle-Kill Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,849
    Loc:
    Colorado- near the Divide
    If the 30 is like the 13, I see what you're say'in. It won't work as I suggested. You are correct, I apologize.
    But... if the 13 is the same as the 30, I have an idea. No, I won't publish my ignorance any further on these mods., but I do have an idea.

Share This Page