My first CL score

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ColdNH

Minister of Fire
Oct 14, 2009
Southern, NH
So im a newbie wood burner, just got the stove in february, but already upsessed with it and enjoy it as a hobby not as a job (like my dad said it would be)

Even paying for seasoned wood by the cord is still a MAJOR improvement over paying for the electric heat to run in the house (at a low temp) but the fact that I can get wood for free is the icing on the cake

So here it is, my first official "scroung"

All oak, a little bit of rot, but nothing major, looks like half a cord to the untrained eye? good thing the doner was there to help me lift em into the truck because without a saw I would have just driven home with an empty truck.

Next purchase is a good saw.

Attachments

• small0001.jpg
    small0001.jpg
    148.8 KB · Views: 378
  • small0002.jpg
    small0002.jpg
    105.9 KB · Views: 374
Another question I had, was whats the etiquette with free wood? the guy gave me a nice half cord of wood and even helped me load it into the truck. I felt like i owed him something in return, or was the fact that I helped him removed it off his yard and truck it away enough payment for him. He really seamed like he wanted NOTHING to do with the wood and was happy to see it go, so i thanked him and went on my merry way.

Just removing it is a big help -- a tree service guy would have charged him $200 to take it away I'm sure.
But I'm sure a case of beers would always be appropriate.