My first real/correct wood pile

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

PunKid8888

Feeling the Heat
Nov 25, 2008
South East NH
So I have been burning casual for about 7 years, at my moms house and last year in my house. I have always burned less then a cord a year. I usually buy a cord every 2 years and mix it in with the random wood I get form the yard and friends.

Needless to say my wood storage has been sub par, some years I would just throw a tarp over the pile in the driveway, I also had a very small wood shed I build from tarps and 2x4 and pallets. It was wrapped to tight to and did not allow any air flow. It only held a face cord so it was very useless.

So after moving in last spring I wanted to get my wood storage in better shape. I never found the time last year So I ended up with about 4 or 5 small stacks throughout the yard in different stages (seasoned/split/rounds/4ft lengths).

So this weekend I had a buddy help as I made a 14ft 1 row wood stack (little over 1/2 cord). Its off the ground by 8" cinder blocks and I used land scape timbers as the base. I also put all the barks down under the stack, to hopefully kill the grass and keep more air moving underneath it. I really like the simplistic approach of a very open stack. This week is going to be nice and sunny so I plan on leaving the tarp off it. Afterwards I will just put a tarp on the top and let it season all summer. I want to set up another stack the same way for future wood, and set up a smaller more enclosed designed close to the house for the winter months.