My pellet observation as a newbie

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RichS

Nov 18, 2012
Hi folks - I am new to the pellet world with a Harman Accentra, which is a great stove. Heating a 2,700 sq. ft. expanded Cape with good (in the new part) to poor (in the old part) insulation. Stove has met expectation, not oil-independent but have cut oil use dramatically. And house is much more comfortable.

We received 2 tons of Maine Wood Pellets with stove. I knew these were more shoulder-grade pellets. Heat was satisfactory, ash seemed a bit heavy but I had nothing to compare too.

After reading reviews and speaking to the local pellet distributor I tested American Wood Fiber and Barefoot pellets. My unscientific observation - definitely an upgrade. Both produced a higher grade of heat. And the BIG obvious - way less ash and a much cleaner stove. The glass is still clean after a week. You can see the difference when you dump the pellets in hopper, virtually no dust.

Now granted, the difference in a ton of the premium pellets to the shoulder is $30-40 a ton, maybe more if you go big box store. For me,I find it worth the added cost. But that's just me.

Still looking for a good shoulder pellet that has reasonable clean burn for the April/May timeframe.

Good luck everyone.

Look in the big box stores for Stove Chow, Fireside Ultras, Greene Team, Timber Heat....there are a few others. All good shoulder/cold weather pellets. The AWF you have are decent pellets too.