my progress report

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mike8937

Sep 10, 2011
n.e.pa
i finished my break in fires friday, so i am still learning. i have yet to load more then a half full fire box and after 8 hours i am left with a very nice bed of coals and a stove still over 300 degrees. most of the time the stove is running between 450 and 550. i am burning so little wood compared to what i am use to and our house is way warmer especially on the second floor. we used to push our old stove and fire place pretty hard just to take the chill out of our bedrooms upstairs, when it got real cold we had to turn on the electric heat. so far i feel like we are barely using any wood and the whole house is being heated rather nicely. the secondary flames are incredible, i would like to know how to trigger them and keep them dancing longer then a few minutes. the only thing that im not fond of is how long it takes to warm this stove up, its a PIA. what made me realize how awesome this stove is was having soft butter in the morning. this stove has made my life easier by reducing the amount of work im required to do and by lowering my electric bills. i am beyond satisfied with my purchase. thanks woodstock!

Sounds great Mike. It's so nice when it all comes together. Can you add your Woodstock to your signature?

Congrats, Mike. You will get way more secondaries that last a lot longer with a bigger load. You will also learn the timing on the draft setings to dial it in how you want it. Just keep it up!