My Quadra-Fire Castile Build Thread - Finished!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

DonD

Dec 22, 2010
Wallingford, CT
I've got my Quadra-Fire Castile and 3.3 tons of pellets delivered and ready to go once I finish the install. This is my first year with pellet heat. Up until now I was 100% oil and forced hot air heat. I know it's not nearly as bad as you propane guys but still I'm tired of the $2,000 per year for oil just to not freeze and still not ever really be warm. My hot water heater is oil fired so I'll still need some oil for that.

I bought 3 different super premium pellets (1 ton Barefoot, 1 ton Turman’s and 1.3 ton Okanagan) because I want to do some testing and being my first year I didn't want to get a bad impression of pellets if I tried cheaper big box pellets and didn't like them. I had them delivered and put up on my covered porch just outside from where the stove will be so they will be within easy reach.

I'm doing my own install and am currently building a hearth pad using left over tile from my kitchen area from when we had the house built so it will tie in nicely. I had started posting in another thread but rather than hijack his thread I thought I'd start my own build thread.

There will be plenty of pictures and being an engineer I plan to have some fun with the testing I plan to do.

The first pictures are of the porch before the pellets arrived, my first 3.3 ton pellet delivery, the corner where the stove is going and the plans I made for a hearth pad. The pad is big enough for a Mt. Vernon if I ever want to upgrade.