My wood stove story

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

zoomzu

Sep 15, 2015
Puyallup, WA
My friend (therivermonster) turned me onto this forum, and even though I've been burning wood to keep the house warm for over 18 years, I've learned so much more in the last couple of weeks I've been reading on this forum.

So about 18 years ago, me and my wife bought our first home. It had this wood stove, and it worked well.
DSC00590_zpsbnjgakdo.jpg
No, the firelogs were never used in the stove. Well the pic was taken in the off season. The house was 1200ish sq. ft. when it got to hot the garage door was opened, then the back slider. The more I learn about stoves, I don't think it was certified. Which makes a big deal for the house we live in now. Since I live in an area that passed a law about certified stoves, I'm glad I unknowingly bought one 10 years ago.

So we sold our old house and bought a new to us house. It had a zero clearance fireplace.
DSC03460_zpsg595w1tv.jpg
DSC04573_zpsjyjgtra7.jpg

After the first winter with the fireplace, we decided we need a wood stove. We went to the state fair looking for deals. For what we had, and the options that were there, we decided on a Hearthstone Homestead hearthmount w/6" legs. I built the heart, the surround and moved the mantel. The wife helped with the grout clean up......I suck at that.

DSC04750_zpslrrqbru9.jpg
DSC_4403_zpsauthvqit.jpg