1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

napoleon 1402 owners- fan question!

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by APersonalMatter, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. APersonalMatter

    APersonalMatter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Loc:
    Coastal MA
    hey folks, i was curious when your fans start to run- after a couple of reloads, the fan was still toggling on and off even though the stovetop was at 650 for a bit. that should be hot enough to start the things, shouldnt it? could my sensor be off, or busted? it seems like there is a lot of usable heat not being blown by the fan...

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. momof2nutlings

    momof2nutlings Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Loc:
    CT
    Mine starts up when the fire does, and doesn't quit until the fire goes out. You might want to check the sensor.
  3. dafattkidd

    dafattkidd Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,506
    Loc:
    Sound Beach, LINY
    I used to have the Napoleon 1101. I used to override the sensor and manually control the fan. I think its in the Napoleon manual how to do this. Its just operating the switch at a certain time. I would turn it off for reloads then turn it on when it reached the desired temp and just leave it on. I do the same thing now with my Osburn. As long as the insert is above say 300* I almost always have the fan on. Hope that helps.
  4. usner21

    usner21 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Loc:
    Eastern PA
    I have the 1402 and my blowers come on when the stove top reaches 250* or so and shut off around the same temp. My blowers run a good 5-6 hours or so during a good burn. I shut them off manually on reload and let the stove get up to 600* or so and then turn them back on and let the stove cruise. It seems like you may have some sort of an issue with the switch that activates your blowers. If your stove top is at 300* plus your blowers should be running.
  5. Joey

    Joey Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Loc:
    Northeastern USA/ Dirty Jersey/Ocean County

    +1....you have a issue someplace,,,,possibly the sensor..check the wiring,,hopefully just something came loose. if not...its a easy fix.
  6. dafattkidd

    dafattkidd Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,506
    Loc:
    Sound Beach, LINY
    I've also read other forum posts about the sensor being bumped moving slightly so it may not be getting an accurate reading because its out of place.
  7. APersonalMatter

    APersonalMatter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Loc:
    Coastal MA
    hmm.. i suspected this might be the case- thanks for the input, i'll have to take a looksie when the thing cools off. i suppose i'll have to clear out the ashes to get to the switch then? i'll have to look for the manual!
  8. usner21

    usner21 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Loc:
    Eastern PA
    I believe the switch is located on the right side behind the panel encasing the blower. Shouldn't need to go inside the firebox at all.
  9. ScotO

    ScotO Guest

    Wire the fan to come on manually......better that way because you can control it, and you don't have to worry about a thermocouple going bad.......
  10. APersonalMatter

    APersonalMatter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Loc:
    Coastal MA
    would the switch be visible through the grating on the right side blower, or am i looking at something else- im able to tinker with things, but need visuals! bwajaja to access the thermo-switchy thing, you think i might not have to remove the bricks inside to get to the blower assembly? the manual wasnt completely clear for a nincompoop like myself! its getting silly seeing still flaming logs and temps over 400 and not having the blower working...
  11. HatCityIAFF

    HatCityIAFF Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    123
    Loc:
    Western CT
    I just took my the covering on the sides off last night because I herd a "pop" and the fans shut off at 500*. Turns out the switch actually burned, 2 month old stove!! Ordered a new one. If you take the cover off the side by the switch, look up in the corner behind the fan, where the back meets the fire box, should be right there on top with two wires going to it. Also, by fan wasn't even bolted to the stove, just sitting there!!!
  12. APersonalMatter

    APersonalMatter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Loc:
    Coastal MA
    ive got the cover off, im currently adjusting the thermal switch thing... heres a question- should i put the switch right against the bottom of the stovetop, or leave a bit of a space? if its right against the metal, is it going to burn up right away? thoughts?
  13. Gr8fulDave

    Gr8fulDave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Having similar issues to those posted here - new 1402; fan kicks on an off - never seems to run continuously - could anyone provide direction on the manual override --also any thoughts on the previous post, should the thermal switch be directly against the bottom of the stove top?

    Many thanks from a new burner!
  14. theodorefalcone

    theodorefalcone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Downstate NY
    Similar issue to me too: servicing the blower motors yesterday and decided to vacuum all the dust around the heat sensor for once. Subsequently, the heat sensor would turn on and off every 5-10min regardless of how hot the stove got. We've had this stove for 5years... even my wife knew immediately that something's not right. Even more strange, every time I took the side panel off, the sensor seemed to work; but when I put the panel back in place, it would shut off within 5min. So I decided to loosen the heat sensor bracket, pushed it into direct contact with the stove (it was about 1/16" off), and now seems to be working normally again. But... it was always 1/16" off, as the paint marks on the bracket that holds the heat sensor show. If it starts acting strangely again, I suspect I need to buy a new sensor. Opinions appreciated.

Share This Page