Napoleon NPS40 flame question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sgenks

Oct 3, 2016
Townsend,MA
Good evening everyone, apologies if this has been discussed before, but I'm new to the pellet stove community.

This past weekend I cleaned the stove, and had to replace ignitor, low limit, and ignition switch, as well as convection motor gasket.

Started stove, and pellets lit, but flame made some.god awful black soot on the inside of the burn chamber, all over the back wall and partially on the glass. Is this fairly normal for initial light?

Another point I should add, is we just bought the house and stove came with. That being said, the whole summer it was for sale and we purchased in June. That whole time the hopper was full of pellets. And I mean completely full. Wondering if the pellets picked up moisture from sitting in a humid house for so long.

Should I remove pellets and start from scratch?

Also anyone with this stove find a pellet that works the best for this stove? I have 8 bags remaining from the previous owner but will be buying pellets for the upcoming winter(late i know) current pellets are Vermont pellets. But have been sitting in the basement(which is humid) but up on a pallet.

Any I put would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys

~Steve

5349180270af5c148b940cbbde28071a.jpg

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

How old is the stove? Heavy use in the past? Light use?