Napoleon vs Lopi vs Osburn

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

schieftain

Feb 1, 2011
Central PA
Newbie here, looking for opinions on the following stoves:

Napoleon 1900
Lopi Liberty
Osburn2400

We have a 2-story 2500 sq ft. house, and this will be going in the basement. I was originally sold on the Lopi because I read a lot of good things about their quality. I also like the idea of buying something made in the U.S. But the Lopi is $2400 locally, and the others are about $700 less online (I don't know what they are in stores). So how do they stack up quality-wise? Maintenance-wise? Feature-wise?

Thanks

I love the combustion technology in the Napoleon stoves, plus the firebox is fully lined with refractory brick, leading to a cleaner fire in my opinion.

I can't comment on the others but Lopi makes a great stove. Full brick baffle, stainless steel burn tubes, bypass for start up/reloads. My biggest issue with the Liberty is with the rectangular firebox, I wish it was able to take an 18" split loaded n/s.

schieftain said:
Newbie here, looking for opinions on the following stoves:

Napoleon 1900
Lopi Liberty
Osburn2400

We have a 2-story 2500 sq ft. house, and this will be going in the basement. I was originally sold on the Lopi because I read a lot of good things about their quality. I also like the idea of buying something made in the U.S. But the Lopi is $2400 locally, and the others are about $700 less online (I don't know what they are in stores). So how do they stack up quality-wise? Maintenance-wise? Feature-wise?

Thanks