Natural Gas Stove or Pellet Stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

basenjiwarrior

Jan 14, 2010
New York
Hello All! (posting from Buffalo,NY)

I am a newbie here and appreciate that there is a knowledgeable place I can go to find out information on stoves.

I was hoping to get a wood stove and turn down/almost off my gas, and cruise through winter ,enjoying the savings and the warmth of the wood fire.

Unfortunately, I have been quoted estimates in the range of $4,500-over $5,000 (piping,piping, piping as I can't go through the chimney)

I just don't have that kind of money.

It's basically a 2 flat house. I live in the downstairs and rent the upstairs.

My place is small- only like 1,100 square feet.

Would it still be cost effective for me to get a vented gas stove or a pellet stove and turn down my gas for the whole place.

Thus, relying on the stove to heat my apartment. Would I expect a savings? Is it worthwhile to do?

Thanks so much, my heart was set on a wood stove, so I have the blues- but am wondering if one of the other options would save me money.

All of these stoves are going to need some degree of piping. Use a fuel cost calculator to do the math of pricing out the cost of gas (natural or propane) vs pellets (local cost) before making a decision. Is there already gas in the house? If not add that cost. How will the pellets get to the house? Need delivery, add that cost.

https://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/articles/fuel_cost_comparison_calculator/