1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Need advice on Fireplace xtrordinair 44 elite

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by hdm2002, Dec 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hdm2002

    hdm2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Monroe GA
    I have bought a 44 elite fireplace. I am going to install stone veneer around the fireplace. The installation manual says to install cement board from "the header to the floor" just wondering if I need to install over the top of the heater box or can you cement the stone directly to the heater box? I will post a picture of what I have later.

    Attached Files:

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. 73blazer

    73blazer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    Loc:
    Birch Run, MI
    I've no direct experience with a FPX, but my North Star which I installed myself last year, came with micore board cut to the shape of the face of the fireplace. and that bridges all the gaps to combustibles to the sides and above and below. I don't think You want to cement anything direct to the unit.

    [​IMG]

    So, I just took a quick look at the FPX instal manual, it says you have to supply the board, so you need to have some facing material.

    From page 22 of your units install manual:
    Good luck finding it, Micore is a tough retail find. You usually have to buy sheets from a fireplace shop for $$$$. There used to be a couple online places, still $$ but less than a fireplace shop would sell it for. Ask your dealer or your installers, if they bought a whole pallet that's where it becomes really cheap ad they may have pieces to sell you that you can use.

    I would have actually thought, if you had it installed, they would have done that, if you did have it installed, I would ask that it be completed per the manual free of charge. Those things aren't cheap, and if you had it installed, I'm sure that wasn't cheap either, it should have been completed to a state ready for a mason to finish it off.
    If you installed it yourself, the manual doesn't say what R/K value the material must have, so you might get away with durarock or something like that, available from HD or Lowes. But again, I don't have FPX experience, so I don't know what it's supposed to be, you might ask your dealer to tell you what material is required.
  3. hdm2002

    hdm2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Monroe GA
    Thanks 73blazer for the info. I am having the unit installed by a dealer they came out and set the unit in place. A longer power cord was needed to make it up to the attic where the blower will sit they did not have one so it is being ordered and coming this Tuesday to finish installing the chimney pipe and electric cord. I do not think they figured a finish facing in the price because they are just charging $400 for the install.
  4. SpeakEasy

    SpeakEasy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Loc:
    Western NY
    I'm in the process of finishing my self-install of a FPX 36 elite. Pretty much the same thing as yours but a little smaller.

    Let me start by saying I'm no expert. Take what I say with appropriate caution.

    I interpreted the manual to mean that 1/2" concrete board was appropriate for the facing. I screwed it directly to the front of the unit and to the surrounding framing. I installed tile on that using thinset mortar.

    If your dealer is doing the chimney, blower duct and cooling ducts for $400, that is money well spent. It's bear of a job for a do-it-yourselfer like me.

    I'll be interested to hear about your use of your FPX when your install is complete. I've been burning for two weeks now and learning more every day.

    -Speak
  5. hdm2002

    hdm2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Monroe GA
    Thanks Speak, I appreciate the info. Do you have any pictures of your install? Are you enjoying your Fpx 36 so far? I am getting very anxious to get my 44 elite burning.
  6. SpeakEasy

    SpeakEasy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Loc:
    Western NY
    I've got a ton of photos, and when the project is totally done I'll work on posting them somewhere on the web. For now, here's the way she looks. As you can see, I still have the mantel to do as well as some finish work.

    NOTE: The mantel is going to be non-combustible (thinking granite or polished concrete), because I chose to go lower than the clearance specified in the manual for a combustible mantel.

    -Speak

    Attached Files:

  7. hdm2002

    hdm2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Monroe GA
    Thanks for the info and the picture looks like you have done a really nice job with the installation . Let me know when you post all of your pictures I would love to see how the whole project evolved.
  8. FPX Dude

    FPX Dude Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    162
    Loc:
    Sacramento, CA

    I have the same 36" as well, and my mantle (wood) is I think ~ 15" above (I dunno, I'll measure if you want me too) and sticks out maybe 8". As I recall the the clearance should be 18" but the installer said it'd be ok because of the fan. He was right, with the fan on the air blows straight out and actually the temp under the mantle is pretty much room temp anyway, maybe a few degrees warmer because of the proximity but not a problem. I thought I'd have to go with a non-combustible but it's been fine, hopefully that's not a problem!
  9. Trail_Time

    Trail_Time Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Loc:
    South Central, PA
    You need the cement board. You'll need something to screw the metal lath mesh down to.
  10. SpeakEasy

    SpeakEasy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Loc:
    Western NY
  11. hdm2002

    hdm2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Monroe GA
    SpeakEasy, I am not real good with computers but I could not get the link to work. I clicked on the link and it took me to the home page of Picasa no pictures. Can you help me out?
  12. SpeakEasy

    SpeakEasy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Loc:
    Western NY
    I'm not much with computers either, so I'm not sure why it isn't working for you. I suspect maybe you need a g-mail account (free) in order for it to work. But hey, what do I know?

    -Speak
  13. hdm2002

    hdm2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Monroe GA
    Yeah I have a g-mail account but it still will not work, but I still have a lot to learn about these computers. Maybe someone else can chime in and help me out.
  14. djamwolfe

    djamwolfe Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Loc:
    S.E. Michigan
    Yeah that link takes me to my own account.... You need to go into the album and click the share to generate a link HTH
    Devon
  15. SpeakEasy

    SpeakEasy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Loc:
    Western NY
  16. hdm2002

    hdm2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Monroe GA
    Speak, those pictures are great. You have done a very good job with your install I hope mine turns out a good as yours. The tile looks great on the fireplace excellent choice! Post some pics when you get the granite mantel installed I bet it will look good with the tile. I have a mason coming this Saturday the 26th to lay my stone for me I hope it turns out good I will post some pics when I get finished. Thanks for the pics they have helped me answer some questions that I had.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page