Need advice on renovating 60 year old home in Maryland.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

NRGarrott

Sep 22, 2013
Annapolis, MD
I just moved into a 60 year old 900 square ft, rambler in Maryland. I have a newer oil furnace, original drafty windows, 6 inches of old blown insulation in the attic with a tongue and grove floor above it, and no insulation in my plaster walls. I am a carpenter/roofer part time, and I am looking for some advice on how to insulate the place. It needs a new roof and siding in the spring. I am currently planning on adding a couple inches of spray foam to the underside of the roof deck, to seal everything. Then I am going to add 4 inches of rigid foam to the top of the roof deck, add plywood, and shingle it. For the walls I was planning on blowing loose pack celluse from the exterior, and then sheathing it in 2 inch rigid foam board, then wrapping that with a vapor and water resistant barrier, then vinyl siding. I'll probably replace my windows with builder grade vinyl when I re-side the place. I can't pull the floor in the attic, this house is less than 1/2 the size of our last house and my wife would kill me if I took that storage from her. It is only a 4/12 pitch so the headroom is limited as is.

Sounds like a major energy retrofit. You have clearly already read about the subject...