Need advice on stove size.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.M2

Feb 3, 2008
WV
I'm new to wood heat.
My house is 900 sq. ft. The floor plan is very divided.
All rooms have doors which will be open and I plan to use doorway fans, ceiling fans, etc. to warm the house.

My concern is that the stove will overheat the room it is going to be installed in.
The room is 11'X21'. The whole house is very well insulated.

I'm looking at the quadrafire 2100 which heats 900 to 1500 sq. ft. approx.

I've read about "flash" fires to get the chill off and long burning fires to last overnight.

How hot can I expect this room to get? Should I buy a smaller stove that maxes out at 900 sq. ft.?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Hmm! Firebox on that stove is only 1.4cu/ft so burn times are going to be short. I'm heating a similar area with an insert with a 1.8cu/ft firebox and the climate is warmer here than there (my February is like your April) but I don't feel overheated (at the minute it's 82 in here and my missus is on the sofa covered with a blanket).

I've got fans to distribute the heat but the other rooms don't get anywhere near as warm (64 at the minute, midnight).

Hi MrM2,