Need heat, dunno what to do in Indiana

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Glove

Oct 11, 2013
I am somewhat new to keeping fires contained in a home. We just moved into a 2,000 sq ft single story brick ranch in central Indiana. The house had a propane vent-less mantle thing that killed us last year in cost of fuel. I have since removed that unit.
Looks like there was a 'fireplace insert' there before and was removed.

*I understand fireplace insert = logs in the hole and 'wood burning' insert= steel sealed air box.

There is just the brick structure behind the stone wall and it stops right at the ceiling-

inside the attic is only metal flue pipe / ducting. looks to be 8-10" inside diameter with a 12" (?) double walled outside?
looking up through the hole you can see the damper /flue plates (?) and inside 'end' of the duct pipes-

(I know its really big pipe in the attic)...the roof just has a sheet metal facade that looks like a chimney.
I am wondering about installing a wood burning insert (really fond of fisher) vs a fireplace insert and maybe what codes I will be arguing with the insurance people.
Also would like to know if I go with a wood stove 'insert' what the largest model I could fit into the hole.
I have tried to provide pictures to help show the situation.

The need for heat is now. There is a 20x20 room addition that has no heat source- used to have baseboard heat but I removed it when we remodeled.
(the rest house is all electric cable ceiling heat- no forced air ducts have ever been installed).

and looking from the kitchen-