Need help choosing a wood stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

domino2332

Nov 8, 2008
NE WI
I am new to wood stove heating in general, but have gotten a lot of great information on this site. I am hoping for a little additional guidance. I have a 1500 sq ft open concept ranch house. The room that my stove would be placed in is ~ 30'x 20'. This room opens up to the rest of the house via a 6' wide open pass. I bought an 1984 LOPI M-520 (older Liberty) and am wondering if that will give off too much heat for my house. I would like to get a good used stove...ideally EPA certified (which the M-520 I have is not) and stay under $500...anyone have any thoughts or comments for me?

From the sig other's persppective I am looking for a stove with a nice glass window vs a "metal box"

Any thougths would be appreciated! Willing to trade too!

Not familair with your old Lopi, but you can always put half loads in for less heat or use lesser BTU woods like pine and soft maples.
As far as finding a used EPA stove, look at craigs list, local papers, and ebay. Do you have Farm & Fleet store near you? I was in one yesterday and looked at a US Stove they had there that really looked well built and I think it was under $700.

Thanks for the thoughts/...I do have a FF near...Since I am new to wood stoves I am never sure of the build quality especially from chain stores like FF, Menards, HD, etc...

domino2332 said:
Thanks for the thoughts/...I do have a FF near...Since I am new to wood stoves I am never sure of the build quality especially from chain stores like FF, Menards, HD, etc...