Need Help Stopping Wood Thief!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

isipwater

Feeling the Heat
Jun 6, 2013
Southeastn, AZ
Hi,

I need help on what steps I should take to stop thieves stealing my wood.

I am still fairly new to burning wood. Last winter was my first season.

As recommended by several Hearth members, I have been trying to get 3 years ahead since I have mostly red oak.

Part of my problem is that I live in a suburb and my house has 2 side yards as opposed to a front and back yard. As a result, my wood piles are easily noticeable by those passing by.

So, what suggestions do you have to stop this problem?

Here are some photos of my wood piles to better understand my situation:

IMAG0165.jpg IMAG0108.jpg IMAG0358.jpg

Last edited:
Not so friendly dog, fence, paint one end of splits
Yes, I do have two territorial terriers I am think of having sleep outside next to the pile. To fence this yard would unfortunately cost around $1700 but 3 full days of labor so I am not inclinded to do this yet. Tell me more about painting one of the splits?

Reactions: Bigg_Redd
Cabela's, Bass pro, Wally Mart....find an "on sale" game cam or two.
They work well and aren't too expensive. When you identify the thief and turn his photo or license number into the cops...make sure the judge orders community service. (As in bucking and splitting the remaining stack by hand) Much better than any trespassing fine.;)

Cabela's, Bass pro, Wally Mart....find an "on sale" game cam or two.