1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Need help with harman accentra zc box install

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Kmckeon, Dec 7, 2012.

  1. Kmckeon

    Kmckeon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Hey I hope you guys can help my dealer is clueless. I bought a harman accentra from my local fireplace dealership along with the zc box and vent pipe. When I tried to install the 4 inch L vent pipe that he supplied it would not fit through the hole. The hole on the zc measures 4 1/2 while the L pipe measures 4 and 3/4. Did the dealer give me the wrong pipe? I read that L and pl are interchangeable but maybe the dimensions are just slightly different? Do I need to return the pipe?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,121
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Why are you running 4"? Generally with the ZC box, it's installed in a dog house & vented nearly straight out the back. In that case you only need the 3" PV...You'll need to chase the starter flange on the cradle to 3", but the price of that should be paid for by the $$$ you save on the venting.
  3. Kmckeon

    Kmckeon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for responding. The zc box is specific to the accentra and only has a precut hole on the top of the top. The dealer told me we need the 4". But it larger than the hole. Do different manufacturers sell different diameter 4"? And this is L pipe not PL does that make a difference? Also, all the pipe I have seen are twist lock, the pipe they sold me is push together and screwed.
  4. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,121
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    You don't need 4" unless you are going to exceed a 15 foot vent length. Tell him you want the 3" pellet vent. Sounds like he carries Excel PV. It's good stuff. I have it on both of mine. The DuraVent PV twist locks & it leaks.
  5. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,903
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    All Harman products are made to spec for Simpson duravent venting. The precut hole comes stock for Simpson 3 inch venting and if you break out the ring, the larger diameter hole is for 4 inch. All fuel pellet venting for positive pressure installations is called L vent
  6. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    eh, what the heck....I'll say it.....just have the dealer install it and make it HIS problem.......
  7. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,354
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    where are you located?

    Eric

Share This Page