Need Help with Heat Exchanger Temperature Variances

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan 17, 2011
NE, Ohio
Hello everyone. I am new to the site. I’ve been using a pieced together outdoor wood burner for three years now. I will share the set up with everyone soon.

I’ve been dealing with a few problems most critical is temperature losses between OWB, Heat Exchanger, and Indoor Boiler.

I understand there are charts and calculators for sizing pumps for the system, but for the sake of keeping this simple, I know my temperature of OWB supply to the heat exchanger is 160° However, my heat exchanger is at a 30-40° heat loss because my indoor output from the heat exchanger is at 110-120°

I have the exchanger lines crossing properly on the heat exchanger.

The problem surfaced when I had a 1/25th HP circ motor and I was only getting 140° on my OWB supply but I could get 140° on my house system. I changed It to a 1/12 HP Bell & Gosset series 100 then it jumped to 160°+ depending how hot I run the OWB. But the indoor system will not rise above 120°.

What might be causing this heat variance?

Here is some data:

OWB Supply Indoor Boiler House Temperature
9:30am 145° 110° 58°
10:30am 145° 110° 58°
11:30am 145° 110° 60°
12:30pm 140° 110° 60°
2:30pm 160° 120° 62°

Any help to lead me down the right road is appreciated.

Thank you,

Adam

Just to let youk now you are not alone with a problem of this nature...I have a thread "OWB to Benjamin cc500 problems"....with exactly the same situation.