Need ideas about type of Woodstove to install

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

vt'er

Jun 23, 2013
Guilford, Vermont
Okay guys-

Here's the deal. I am a builder in Vermont. Built a nice too-small home ten years ago and insulated it extremely well knowing it is far cheaper to insulate more now than heat later. Installed a mid size Hearthstone woodstove centrally located to heat about 2500 sq ft of home. Its been perfect, burn about 1 cord of wood a year that I harvest off our own acreage. Couldn't ask for better.

The reason I say too small is that as many of you already know, soon after moving in the kids appeared, out of nowhere! Just kidding. Anyway, two years ago when the economy was really bad and interest rates low my wife and I took out a construction loan and added on to the too small house. Just about doubled the square footage of the house and put in a nice well insulated ICF full basement, something the original house doesn't have (aka, the man cave).