Need New Wood Cart

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

WarmGuy

Minister of Fire
Jan 30, 2006
Far Northern Calif. Coast
The wood cart that I've been patching and repairing for 15 years was fatally wounded today:

FirewoodMoving011.jpg

I loved that cart, but a new one would cost about $200.

I like the one that Eric made(https://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/1023/), but I need one right away, and I think a pair of wheels will cost as much as this $49 cart from harbor freight:

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=44599

Anyone have one of these? Any other thoughts?

Thanks,

Al

OK, this might kinda be akin to admitting that you wear ladies underpants, but I have a Baby/toddler Running stroller that can hold a decent amount of firewood. It has those bigger spoked wheels, not those small plastic deals. I only mention this because I see strollers at yard sales all the time for real cheap. Both your wheel-barrow, and that cart you posted will hold MUCH more wood than mine, but if you have one around it could be a cheap short term replacement until you get what you need. Some modification could probably get the wood to stack on better, too.

I'd get some fiber glass from NAPA and just repair it...what do you care what it looks like? If you like that cart then repair it correctly.