Need recomendation for gas woodsplitter

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

syd3006

Jan 20, 2008
Northwestern Ontario
Hi all, it's been a while since I posted here. I've been burning wood for a few years now and have my system down pretty well. I find however that splitting wood by hand is getting a little difficult as I am not getting any younger. I would like to purchase a wood splitter and would like to know what you folks would recomend.
My property is has a river valley running through it and there is an abundance of ash growing through it, some of it very large I plan to pull the splitter down to the wood with my 4 wheeler and block and split it on site, then haul it back to the house in a trailer behind the 4 wheeler. I have been doing this already just without the splitter and is has been working well.
I will probably end up going to a city to pick up a splitter unless I can arrange to have one delivered. There is a limited choice here, Home Hardware sells Echo brand and there is a Menards store across the border from the town I work in that sell an MTD brand splitter. The MTD has a cast iron wedge which I am unsure about.
I know there is a lot to consider like cycle time and tons of force and such but I don't have any experience at all with them. Some of the ash especially the larger diameter stuff near the butt of the tree is a real "bear" to split, as hard as I can swing my maul it will just bounce off!!
Any advice would be appreciated.