Need to replace my homeowner miter saw. Recommendations?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wahoowad

Minister of Fire
Dec 19, 2005
Virginia
My basic homeowner miter/chop saw is near the end of it's life. I have a Delta el-cheapo and it survived 6+ years of my abuse and misuse. By default I will probably go to Sears and find a Craftsman I like, then wait for a decent sale if they aren't having one.

I'm a hack carpenter. I mostly cut 2x4's for various garage/outdoor projects like firewood racks, kayak racks, etc. Occasionally will cut some trim, siding or decking for a repair around the house. Have been known to take an inch or two off firewood cut too long, or even chop up some branches to make kindling. Yes, fuddy duddys, I always wear my eye protection.

The laser feature seems handy. The 12" inch blade models cost about the same as 10" so probably going with the higher capacity 12" one. Anybody buy a new one recently and want to point out a cool feature or specific model I should consider?

Thanks

Guess it depends on your budget.
I just finished buinding my home- so my saw is two years old now. I looked em over and bought the DeWalt 12" sliding compound miter saw at Home Depot.