Needing advice on storage

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ChemicalWaste

Nov 20, 2016
Ohio
I'm just getting started into this, and it's all completely new to me. We bought a new (old) house (1873) in March of 2014. It has 2 wood burners in it. One is a Isle Royale Legacy wood stove, the other is a Greenwood 100 boiler. The boiler is my concern for this post. Love it or hate it, it's in, and right now it's not going anywhere. I'm not loving it, but I'm trying to polish a turd here, but maybe it's nowhere near as difficult as I think it is.

The house has the original radiators in it for heat downstairs. I also have an old natural gas boiler in the basement for backup, as well as a brand new heat pump put in over the summer of 2015. The second floor is heated by a forced air gas unit in the attic. There is no connection between the 2 units.

Last winter, which was pretty mild, I burned 12 cords to heat this place. Clearly, I don't want to keep that up my entire life hence, I'm looking to add some storage, preferably in what used to be the coal chute in the basement, directly under the boiler. Part of my thought was to use the storage tanks, however large I can manage to get down there, to run the radiant heat downstairs, and also put a heat exchanger in the air unit in the attic.

Is it possible to do multiple zones out of the tanks?